UltraBac Software  

Go Back   UltraBac Software Forum > UltraBac Technical Support > UltraBac Usage Questions
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2011, 02:24 PM
dvillegas dvillegas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: México
Posts: 46
Default Install UltraBac to remote machines with Windows 7

Why is it not possible to remotely install UltraBac 9.2.1 on Windows 7, marks an mistake "undetermining platform of remote machine" or authentication problem, but it is not possible to install.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-09-2011, 10:28 AM
James Dawes James Dawes is offline
UltraBac Technical Support Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 129
Default

When you get that error, it is becuase something is blocking UltraBac's communication with the remote machine. You must make sure to turn off the firewall, then stop the windows firewall service as well. UAC can also interfere with remote installations.

There is also something specific to Windows 7 that prevents remote installs. Try installing locally on the machine and point it back to you backup server for licensing. Be sure to use the same default username during install.
__________________
James Dawes
UltraBac Software
Technical Support Manager
James@ultrabac.com
425-644-6000
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2011, 02:54 PM
dvillegas dvillegas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: México
Posts: 46
Default

Thank you for your answer. I will perform some test.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2011, 08:16 AM
James Dawes James Dawes is offline
UltraBac Technical Support Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 129
Default

How did things work out for you?
__________________
James Dawes
UltraBac Software
Technical Support Manager
James@ultrabac.com
425-644-6000
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-22-2012, 09:30 AM
sigmajt sigmajt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Default Is it so difficult?

My Dameware remote control software pushes installs to windows 7 machines all the time with no need to mess with firewall settings. It is possible and I can't believe it's a limitation of Windows 7/Firewalls that is preventing this.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-23-2012, 09:26 AM
James Dawes James Dawes is offline
UltraBac Technical Support Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 129
Default

I cannot speak for the install of DameWare, but for push installs of UltraBac, you must:
1. Enable remote registry service (disabled by default by Microsoft)
2. Disable the Windows firewall (and kill the service) OR open up TCP ports 445 and 1910.
__________________
James Dawes
UltraBac Software
Technical Support Manager
James@ultrabac.com
425-644-6000
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001-2015 UltraBac Software