UltraBac Software  

Go Back   UltraBac Software Forum > UltraBac Technical Support > UltraBac Usage Questions
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-07-2009, 08:31 AM
gojoego gojoego is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Default Scheduled backups won't start

I have been using Ultrabac 7.1 since before dirt was invented with a ait tape. Early this year, the tape drive died. I didn't want to replace it, so I removed the tape device and created a path for a hard drive.

The backups work great. However, the backups will not start automatically using schedule.

Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-07-2009, 09:22 AM
Derek Beaney Derek Beaney is offline
UltraBac Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 176
Default

Hi,

7.1 Should work fine with backup paths.

I would verify:

1. the scheduled set has the backuppath defined as the default device.
2. the scheduler service is started ( i would also restart it, in case it has hung)
__________________
Derek Beaney,
UltraBac Software
Test Engineer / Beta Manager
Phone: 425-644-6000
Email: Derek@ultrabac.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-07-2009, 10:09 AM
gojoego gojoego is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Derek,

I checked all the settings and everything looked good. Did a test backup to see if it would auto start. Nothing. Adjusted the test backup to start in 20 minutes.

Restarted the machine. The test backup started automatically.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-08-2009, 08:35 AM
gojoego gojoego is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Derek,

My backup did not auto start last night.

What I did when the tape drive died, was the following:

Installed a USB drive.
Created directories: MON, TUE, WED, THU, FRI
Created devices pointing to each directory.
Created schedules for each day pointing to corresponding directory.

The only problem I am having is for the scheduled backups to auto start.

One thing I noticed is the default device does not change from each scheduled day. If I set THU's device path for the default, then THU will auto start. Next day, FRI won't start unless I go in and manually change the default device to FRI. Is there a better way to do this?

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2009, 09:52 AM
gojoego gojoego is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Today, doing a test to see if I have all the options set correctly, like instead of using Restrict to: TUE versus using the number of minutes until next backup, I started receiving this error:

Error

UBMS: Error Logon of user <domain name>\user failed @ machine (50-The network request is not supported.)

Note: <domain name>, user and machine were changed.

Why would I suddenly be receiving this error?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-11-2009, 11:15 AM
gojoego gojoego is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Derek,

In my previous post I mentioned that I setup paths to the same drive but to different directories named for each day of the week.

backuppath0 = \\somecomputer\g$\MON
backuppath1 = \\somecomputer\g$\TUE
backuppath2 = \\somecomputer\g$\WED
backuppath3 = \\somecomputer\g$\THU
backuppath4 = \\somecomputer\g$\FRI

I am wondering if this is necessary. I did not have the "clear data" enabled and each MON has been filling up with more data. So, if I just have one root folder backuppath0 = \\somecomputer\g$\backup and I don't enable the "clear data" (except on Mondays), then each day will write new data to the folder. I was hoping to preserve each day's data for at least one week. But as soon as Monday rolls around all of the data would be deleted for the Monday backup to execute. I guess If I have to I could get a third drive.

What is the the recommended method in using a single hard drive for one week's worth of backups? I don't want to have to switch media out daily and I do not have an autoloader device.

Thanks,

Joe
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-11-2009, 11:23 AM
Derek Beaney Derek Beaney is offline
UltraBac Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 176
Default

i would stick with the 5 different folders for each day of the week.

and then i would schedule 5 different backups (1 for each day of the week).

In newer versions of UltraBac, we have an option called "keep backups for x amount of days" what this does is allow the backups to be put in 1 folder, and as they reach the expiration time, they would be deleted at the end of the successful backup.


And what version of 7.1 are you using? (build date and build number)
__________________
Derek Beaney,
UltraBac Software
Test Engineer / Beta Manager
Phone: 425-644-6000
Email: Derek@ultrabac.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-11-2009, 12:02 PM
gojoego gojoego is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Default

I am using UltraBac 7.1.2 Sep 4, 2003 (build#282).

The funny thing about this is that the scheduler auto backup sometimes works.

If I go in and select the Storage Device for that day (i.e. Mon, select backuppath0), then Monday's backup will auto start. But on Tuesday, the default device is still backuppath0 and it won't autostart.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-11-2009, 02:19 PM
Derek Beaney Derek Beaney is offline
UltraBac Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 176
Default

Hi Joe,

that is some weird behavior. What i would recommend is getting your self up to the latest version of 7.1 (7.1.5) as there has been alot of fixes to it, and it is very stable.

In 7.1.5 we do not have any scheduler issues (that i know of)

you can download it here:


Just install over top of the version you have, and it will keep all of the settings.

let me know how things go!
__________________
Derek Beaney,
UltraBac Software
Test Engineer / Beta Manager
Phone: 425-644-6000
Email: Derek@ultrabac.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-12-2009, 07:26 AM
gojoego gojoego is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Derek,

Thanks for the download link and your help. I installed the update. Restarted the system and waited. My scheduled backup still did not auto start.

Now, I have a question. I remote into my server to set these things up. Is it possible that Ultrabac does not function correctly through a remote desktop login?

If my logs are full, can that cause the system to not auto start?

I've deleted all my schedules and started from scratch, but still the same.

On another note, I've been trying to restore some data saved last week and I get a message that states this data is not Ultrabac data. ????

I'm not sure what is going on.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2001-2015 UltraBac Software