UltraBac Software  

Go Back   UltraBac Software Forum > UltraBac Technical Support > UBDR Pro/Gold
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-23-2010, 09:25 AM
Derek Beaney Derek Beaney is offline
UltraBac Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 176
Default

that would be correct. If there are any diffrences between the hardware, then ubdr will not be able to restore, at that point you would need ubdr gold
__________________
Derek Beaney,
UltraBac Software
Test Engineer / Beta Manager
Phone: 425-644-6000
Email: Derek@ultrabac.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-23-2010, 01:47 PM
mitchb
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Just so I'm clear. What I want to do is clone my system disk from a mechanical hard drive to a solid state drive. This would require UBDR Gold?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-23-2010, 02:08 PM
Derek Beaney Derek Beaney is offline
UltraBac Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 176
Default

Sorry about my last response, let me clear up my statement.

If you are restoring to identical hardware (example: from one sata drive to another sata drive) then UBDR pro is all that you need.

If you are restoring to different hardware (example, different computer, or different raid controller) then you will need UBDR gold.

Can i have you tell me the options and the steps you took when doing the restore?

Thanks!
__________________
Derek Beaney,
UltraBac Software
Test Engineer / Beta Manager
Phone: 425-644-6000
Email: Derek@ultrabac.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-23-2010, 03:03 PM
mitchb
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I did an Image Disaster Recovery Agent type of backup with the options "Always back up partitions individually" and "Enable in-use cluster backup for partitions with known filesystems".

This is part of the log file of the backup:

--------------------- Backup Log -------------------------------------

BACKUP OPTIONS:
Compression: Software
Index this Backup: Yes

BACKUP SET(S):
01 - System Clone (adhoc)

SET - System Clone
Agent: Image Disaster Recovery @ ZOIDBERG
Device: BackupPath1 (D - System Backup Clone (D:\BackupClone\))


Warning! 3/20/2010 8:33:24 AM
Volume Snapshot Services gathering of writer metadata failed - (0-)
Drive 'C' frozen for locked file backup 3/20/2010 8:33:39 AM in 0 seconds.

Software compression ratio: 1.35 to 1
1 Partition (1 Disk) Totaling 24.47 GB Selected.
1 Partition (1 Disk) Totaling 24.47 GB Written.
Begin: 3/20/2010 8:33:22 AM
End: 3/20/2010 8:46:13 AM
Duration: (00:12:50) Rate: (32.54 MB/Sec 1.91 GB/Min 114.41 GB/Hour)
0 Errors and 1 Warnings.


BACKUP SUMMARY:
Backup Complete.
Begin: 3/20/2010 8:33:22 AM
End: 3/20/2010 8:46:13 AM
Duration: (00:12:50) Rate: (32.54 MB/Sec 1.91 GB/Min 114.41 GB/Hour)
Overall Software compression ratio: 1.35 to 1
Media Capacity: 298.081 GB
Media Remaining: 91.549 GB
0 Errors and 1 Warnings.
1 Partition Completed/1 Partition Selected.
1 Disk Completed/1 Disk Selected.
24.47 GB Completed/24.47 GB Selected.

--------------------------------------------------------------------
Then I used the Restore Wizard and selected Image Disaster Recovery Agent and Disk 0 from the index.

First I selected "Restore entire image to physical device" and "Restore MBR...". Then I used the Restore Wizard again without "Restore MBR..." selected. I think I selected to mark this partition active.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-24-2010, 03:21 PM
Derek Beaney Derek Beaney is offline
UltraBac Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 176
Default

looking at the backup log, it looks like vss had issues during the backup.

Can i have you re-run the backup?


If you still get the same error, Open the backup set, go to set properties, Disaster recovery /Image restore options and then choose the option for incremental \ Differential backup, and below that, choose full backup. What this will do is have UltraBac use its own driver instead of Volume shadow copy.
__________________
Derek Beaney,
UltraBac Software
Test Engineer / Beta Manager
Phone: 425-644-6000
Email: Derek@ultrabac.com
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-24-2010, 08:14 PM
mitchb
 
Posts: n/a
Default

When I ran the backup again, I received the same error, so I did what you recommended and now all is well and I can boot from the SSD. Thanks a lot.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2001-2019 UltraBac Software