UltraBac Software  

Go Back   UltraBac Software Forum > UltraBac Technical Support > File-by-File Backup and Restore
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2015, 07:00 PM
njaneardude njaneardude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 6
Default 0x8BE100000 Failure Restoring

I'm trying to restore from some tapes backed up with UB v8 (Server 2003) on UB v9.1.1 (Server 2008)

Found what I want to restore but get this generic message when I try to restore.
Update: Unable to connect UltraValue to Ultrabac message when I acknowledge the error.

I get the same message when I try to backup.

UB gurus please help! Really need to pull this data off of this tape.

Thanks!

~n
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2015, 08:34 AM
David Conlon David Conlon is offline
UltraBac Technical Support
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Default UltraVue Error

Hello,

This is a permissions related error.

Is the data being restored locally or to a remote machine?

It would be best to confirm which account UltraBac is currently using to authenticate.

To do this please click on Manage>General>Authentication>Show Accounts

Is this a local or domain account?
__________________
David Conlon
UltraBac Software
Application Support
Davidc@UltraBac.com
P: 425-644-6000
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2015, 08:26 PM
njaneardude njaneardude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 6
Default Permissions

I was trying to restore to a remote file server using the domain backup service account. Just checked the account and I see that we had restricted the permissions on it.

Closing UB and searching the tape again (no index found so long search).

Will update soon.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2015, 04:40 PM
njaneardude njaneardude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 6
Unhappy Decryption Phrase Invalid

Almost there, but getting a "decryption phrase invalid" error. I'm 99% certain that we didn't use one, but if we did our old sys admins are long gone.
The tapes were backed up with v8 and using v9. Tried the 'Pre-version 9.0 decryption' with same error.

Tried restoring to the local server and remote share.

Thanks again!

~n
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2015, 05:00 PM
David Conlon David Conlon is offline
UltraBac Technical Support
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Default Encryption Phrase

From the error it seems like pre AES encryption may have been enabled on this particular backup.

Are the backup indexes visible when using restore>media, but the error occurs when attempting to open one of the backup indexes?
__________________
David Conlon
UltraBac Software
Application Support
Davidc@UltraBac.com
P: 425-644-6000
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-12-2015, 06:08 PM
njaneardude njaneardude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 6
Default Index

The backup indexes are not visible. I had to use the Tools > Media > Rebuild Index from Media and then Restore > Recovered Index
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-12-2015, 11:46 PM
njaneardude njaneardude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 6
Default Any Hope

Is there any hope of restoring this data?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-13-2015, 06:23 AM
David Conlon David Conlon is offline
UltraBac Technical Support
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Default Incomplete Backup

Hello,

I was not aware that these were incomplete backups, the rebuild process is a bit of a last ditch effort to restore data from an incomplete backup. It will not work every time.

We should look for a tape that contains a backup index, rather than the rebuild process.

Is there more than one tape available? If so, do they all state that there are no backup sets found on the media?
__________________
David Conlon
UltraBac Software
Application Support
Davidc@UltraBac.com
P: 425-644-6000
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-13-2015, 06:27 AM
njaneardude njaneardude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 6
Default Additional Tapes

Thanks again David. I think I have gone through all the tapes, about ten of them, possibly not. End of the work day here, Will try again first thing Monday. Gut instinct tells me no index will be found on any of them. Odd thing is when it was version 8 we tested restore capabilities so I know they (used to) work.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-13-2015, 06:41 AM
David Conlon David Conlon is offline
UltraBac Technical Support
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Default

UltraBac v9 is able to read v8 backup indexes, so the possibilities that I believe may have occurred in this case are that these particular backups did not complete or something happened to the data on the tape between the time they were tested and now.

As the rebuild process is seeing data on the tape and creating an index, I believe in this case they did not complete rather than becoming corrupt.

It may be worthwhile to attempt the rebuild process on other tapes as well.
__________________
David Conlon
UltraBac Software
Application Support
Davidc@UltraBac.com
P: 425-644-6000
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2001-2015 UltraBac Software