UltraBac Software  

Go Back   UltraBac Software Forum > UltraBac Technical Support > UltraBac Usage Questions
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-13-2007, 01:43 AM
mgilmoreno
 
Posts: n/a
Default How could I Unprotect a media

I have a media used at ultrabac back up and now I need do backup with NTbackup, because this media is going to use for doing tests with diferents enviroments.

Ultrabac aplication, said me: "the media is unprotected", but Ntbackup aplication, said me: "the media is protected"

Somebody know something about this, there is any way for unprotecting the media?

Could you help me please?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-13-2007, 04:22 PM
Paul Paul is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 20
Default

Is there any chance you're using WORM or "write once" media ?

Any chance the "protect" switch has been accidentally put in the "safe"/"locked" position ?

UB cannot and does not protect a medium from writing by another application such as ntbackup; what you are observing can only be done at the hardware level.

HTH
-Paul
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2007, 11:34 PM
mgilmoreno
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have more tapes, and I had set it unproted the tapes, I donīt now whatīs happend Iīll do it with another server, whitout UB installed

Thanks Paul
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-2007, 03:14 AM
mgilmoreno
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The problem is in my server, because Iīve been doing back up in another server With my tape and I had no problems.

My server have windows 2000 server as operating system and the back up device is C5683A and I had run all LTT tests without errors

I donīt know what could be the problem, Iīm going to do a back up with UB, because I donīt sure the device is right now

Thanks everybody
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2007, 03:45 AM
mgilmoreno
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have the error 1106
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-14-2007, 08:12 AM
Derek Beaney Derek Beaney is offline
UltraBac Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgilmoreno View Post
I have the error 1106
Hi,

I am having problems trying to find this error in our database, can i have you post the context of the error?

Thanks!
__________________
Derek Beaney,
UltraBac Software
Test Engineer / Beta Manager
Phone: 425-644-6000
Email: Derek@ultrabac.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-14-2007, 03:35 PM
Paul Paul is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek Beaney View Post
Hi,

I am having problems trying to find this error in our database, can i have you post the context of the error?

Thanks!
NET HELPMSG 1106

will tell you that the block size is set incorrectly.

ntbackup (or other backups apps) and UB all use different block sizes. I can imagine seeing this error if attempting to use an ntbackup-formatted tape in a UB drive. It could also be caused by a system using a different driver to the current system (the block size, although set by the hardware can be further modified by the driver arbitrarily).

Note that a "protected media" type error can be caused by a tape drive that refuses to write on a given medium. Sometimes, as an example, a tape drive will do this when it detects a high number of errors on reading the tape. Trying cleaning the tape drive, and using a new tape and see if the error re-occurs.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Đ 2001-2019 UltraBac Software