UltraBac Software  

Go Back   UltraBac Software Forum > UltraBac Technical Support > UBDR Pro/Gold
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-22-2010, 01:04 PM
mitchb
 
Posts: n/a
Default Using UBDR Pro to clone system HD to SSD

I am trying to use UB 8.1.1 with UBDR Pro from the Management Console to clone my system (XP Pro SP3) hard drive to an Intel X25-M. I have not been able to produce a bootable SSD. The drives are the same size and only half full. Is there any potential issue I should be aware of?

Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2010, 01:11 PM
Derek Beaney Derek Beaney is offline
UltraBac Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 176
Default

are both drives sata?
__________________
Derek Beaney,
UltraBac Software
Test Engineer / Beta Manager
Phone: 425-644-6000
Email: Derek@ultrabac.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2010, 01:18 PM
mitchb
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yes. Both are SATA.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-22-2010, 01:21 PM
Derek Beaney Derek Beaney is offline
UltraBac Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 176
Default

what is the error that you get on restore or boot-up?
__________________
Derek Beaney,
UltraBac Software
Test Engineer / Beta Manager
Phone: 425-644-6000
Email: Derek@ultrabac.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2010, 01:25 PM
mitchb
 
Posts: n/a
Default

There is no error message. The system shows the boot screen, the Intel RAID boot agent and then restarts. It never gets to the Windows screen.

(RAID is not being used for the original or target system drive.)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-23-2010, 05:37 AM
Derek Beaney Derek Beaney is offline
UltraBac Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 176
Default

and just to verify, the hardware that you are restoring to is exactly the same as the original, with the exception of the hard drives?
__________________
Derek Beaney,
UltraBac Software
Test Engineer / Beta Manager
Phone: 425-644-6000
Email: Derek@ultrabac.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-23-2010, 05:59 AM
mitchb
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yes. The same hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-23-2010, 06:11 AM
Derek Beaney Derek Beaney is offline
UltraBac Technical Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 176
Default

lets have you check one last thing.

Can i have you go into the bios of the original system and find out what mode the sata controller is set in (legacy, raid, ahci)

and make sure the new system is set the same way.
__________________
Derek Beaney,
UltraBac Software
Test Engineer / Beta Manager
Phone: 425-644-6000
Email: Derek@ultrabac.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-23-2010, 07:32 AM
mitchb
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It's the same system and the settings are:
ATA/IDE Mode: Enhanced
Configure SATA as: RAID
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-23-2010, 07:38 AM
mitchb
 
Posts: n/a
Default

According to a UB Sales Account Manager with whom I just spoke, UBDR Pro doesn't restore an image to dissimilar hardware and I would need UBDR Gold to do that.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2001-2019 UltraBac Software